Heismandment No. 5

This Heismandment says that the winner must be either (a) a top player on a national title contender, (b) a player who puts up good numbers for a traditional power with a good record, or (c) a player who puts up superlative single-season or career numbers on a good team or whose numbers are way out ahead of his Heisman competitors.

The best candidate would possess all three qualities–he would be the top player on a national-title-contending traditional power whose career and single-season stats are superlative or way out ahead of his competitors.

Guys like Tony Dorsett in 1976, Charles White in 1979, and Charlie Ward in 1993 possessed all these qualities.

Barry Sanders in 1988 won purely on the power of his overwhelming single-season numbers, while Rickey Williams in 1998 and Ron Dayne in 1999 both won for becoming the all-time NCAA rushing leaders.

Desmond Howard won in 1991 because he put up good numbers for a traditional power, as did Eddie George in 1995 and Carson Palmer in 2002.

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of Heismanpundit.com, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.