From the “In” Box

A reader writes in:

You have a great site. I’m a major SC football junkie, and I’ve got one eye on the Heisman, but I don’t know who SC should pump. If you were SC, would you start to pump Reggie for the Heisman too? Or just Matt? I’m think Matt this year and Reggie next year. The first school to win back-to-back Heismans with different players!!!

Thanks for the kudos. I think you are exactly correct. USC should pump just Leinart this year, since according to my Heismandments, you pretty much have to be a junior or a senior to actually win it. To add Bush muddles the message and hurts the guy who has the real shot. They should approach it with Bush like he’s building toward a run in 2005, just like they did with Leinart last year.

Oh and one more thing: Army won the Heisman in 1945 and 1946 with two different players–Glenn Davis and Doc Blanchard.

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.