Final Scripps Howard Poll–It’s White!

The final Scripps Howard News Service Heisman poll is out and it looks like the Heismandments are in danger, as Jason White appears poised to become only the second two-time winner of the trophy. The final SHNS poll has correctly predicted 16 of the last 18 Heisman winners.

The final poll:

Jason White, QB Oklahoma, 37 (4)

Matt Leinart, QB USC, 30 (1)

Reggie Bush, RB/KR USC, 24 (2)

Adrian Peterson, RB Oklahoma, 24 (1)

Alex Smith, QB Utah, 18

Others receiving votes: Jason Campbell, QB, Auburn, 5 points (1); Aaron Rodgers, QB, California, 5 (1); Cedric Benson, RB, Texas, 4; J.J. Arrington, RB, California, 2; Carnell Williams, RB, Auburn, 1.

The voters: Mark Blaudschun (Boston Globe); Kirk Bohls (Austin, Texas, American-Statesman); Scott Cain (Arkansas Democrat-Gazette); Chris Dufresne (Los Angeles Times); Herb Gould (Chicago Sun-Times); Vahe Gregorian (St. Louis Post-Dispatch); Mike Griffith (Knoxville, Tenn., News-Sentinel); Randy Holtz (Rocky Mountain News); John Lindsay (Scripps Howard News Service); John Rohde (The Oklahoman).

It was a turbulent year for the Heisman poll, with major shifting almost on a weekly basis. In 12 weeks of balloting, there were four different leaders and 12 different vote-getters (Jason White, QB, Oklahoma; Matt Leinart, QB, Southern California; David Greene, QB, Georgia; Darren Sproles, RB, Kansas State; Cedric Benson, RB, Texas; Kyle Orton, QB, Purdue; J.J. Arrington, RB, California; Reggie Bush, RB/KR, USC; Adrian Peterson, RB, Oklahoma; Aaron Rodgers, QB, California; Jason Campbell, QB, Auburn; Alex Smith, QB, Utah). The top five in the voting each week:

Preseason 1. White 2. Leinart 3. Greene 4. Sproles 5. Benson
Sept. 14 1. White, Leinart (tie) 3. Orton 4. Benson 5. Arrington
Sept. 21 1. Leinart 2. White 3. Orton 4. Benson 5. Bush
Sept. 287 1. Leinart 2. White 3. Orton 4. Benson 5. Bush
Oct. 5 1. Orton 2. Leinart 3. White 4. Benson 5. Bush
Oct. 12 1. Orton 2. Leinart 3. Peterson 4. White 5. Rodgers
Oct. 19 1. Leinart 2. Peterson 3. Orton 4. White 5. Bush
Oct. 26 1. Leinart 2. Peterson 3. White 4. Bush 5. Orton, Campbell (tie)
Nov. 2 1. Peterson, Leinart (tie) 3. White 4. Rodgers 5. Bush
Nov. 9 1. White 2. Leinart 3. Peterson 4. Bush 5. Smith
Nov. 16 1. White 2. Leinart 3. Smith 4. Benson, Peterson (tie)
Nov. 23 1. White 2. Leinart 3. Peterson 4. Smith 5. Arrington
Nov. 30 1. White, Leinart (tie) 3. Peterson 4. Smith 5. Benson
*Dec. 7 1. White 2. Leinart 3. Bush 4. Peterson 5. Smith

*-Final poll

The SHNS Final Poll history (where wrong, actual winner is in parentheses):

1987 Don McPherson, QB, Syracuse (Tim Brown, WR, Notre Dame)
1988 Barry Sanders, RB, Oklahoma State
1989 Andre Ware, QB, Houston
1990 Ty Detmer, QB, Brigham Young
1991 Desmond Howard, WR, Michigan
1992 Gino Torretta, QB, Miami
1993 Charlie Ward, QB, Florida State
1994 Rashaan Salaam, RB, Colorado
1995 Eddie George, RB, Ohio State
1996 Danny Wuerffel, QB, Florida
1997 Charles Woodson, CB/WR, Michigan
1998 Ricky Williams, RB, Texas
1999 Ron Dayne, RB, Wisconsin
2000 Josh Heupel, QB, Oklahoma (Chris Weinke, QB, Florida State)
2001 Eric Crouch, QB, Nebraska
2002 Carson Palmer, QB, Southern California
2003 Jason White, QB, Oklahoma
2004 White

Interestingly, the last time the poll was wrong, it chose an OU quarterback who was heading into a national title showdown in the Orange Bowl against his main Heisman competition.

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.