Some Heisman Tidbits

Here’s a few peanuts to munch on for those of you just passing through:

* Teams with the most Heismans: Notre Dame (7), Ohio St. (6), USC (6), Oklahoma (4), Nebraska (3), Michigan (3), Army (3).

* Only twice (1936-37 with Yale and 1945-46 with Army) has a team won back-to-back Heismans with different players. In 1975, Ohio State’s Archie Griffin became the only two-time winner.

* Notre Dame in 1947 and 1949 and USC in 1979 and 1981 (and again in 2002 and 2004) are the only two schools to win the trophy two out of three years (with a year in between).

* In a testament to the changes that college football has undergone, running backs have won only six of the last 21 Heismans. This came just after running backs won 11 in a row from 1973-1983.

* Running backs have won the Heisman 38 times, quarterbacks have won it 24 times, receivers/ends have won it 5 times, fullbacks have won it 2 times and a cornerback has won it once.

* Of the last 26 Heisman winners, 3 were from the SEC, 4 from the Pac-10, 6 were from the Big 12, 4 were from the Big 10, 6 were from independents, 2 were from the ACC and one was from the WAC.

* No one named Adrian, Reggie, Vince, Drew, Brady, or Maurice has ever won the Heisman. The last ‘Lawrence’ to win it was Larry Kelley in 1936, so Lawrence Maroney can rest easy about that one.

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.