Voting Wrap Up

Here is the breakdown of the regions:

Mark Ingram, 238
Toby Gerhart, 219
Colt McCoy, 179
Ndamukong Suh, 104
Tim Tebow, 83

This was a mystery region going in and it ended up mirroring the final vote.

Mark Ingram, 222
Toby Gerhart, 187
Colt McCoy, 187
Ndamukong Suh, 105
C.J. Spiller, 79
Tim Tebow, 57

This region was somewhat surprising.  Colt McCoy finished much better than expected and C.J. Spiller was not much of a factor, which was mildly surprising.

Mark Ingram, 254
Colt McCoy, 176
Toby Gerhart, 165
Ndamukong Suh, 113
Tim Tebow, 106

The South’s vote was surprising in that Tebow came in fifth and McCoy took second.

Ndamukong Suh, 254
Colt McCoy, 216
Mark Ingram, 214
Toby Gerhart, 180
Tim Tebow, 33

This ended up being the key region in the vote.  McCoy went from 313 points last year to 216 this year, thanks to Suh’s dominance.  Suh basically was the wildcard in the race who cost McCoy the Heisman.  Mark Ingram trailed McCoy by just two points here and beat out Gerhart by 34 points.  Reverse that and we have a different Heisman winner.

Mark Ingram, 223
Toby Gerhart, 206
Colt McCoy, 173
Ndamukong Suh, 146
Tim Tebow, 45

As expected, Ingram and Gerhart were strong here.  Ingram, because he’s from Michigan and Gerhart due to his performance against Notre Dame.

Far West
Toby Gerhart, 319
Colt McCoy, 214
Mark Ingram, 153
Ndamukong Suh, 93
Tim Tebow, 66

Gerhart piled up big points here as predicted, but clearly not enough to win.

First place votes–Second Place Votes–Third Place Votes—-Total Points
1. Mark Ingram, 227–236–151—-1,304
2. Toby Gerhart, 222–225–160—-1,276
3. Colt McCoy, 203–188–160—-1,145
4. Ndamukong Suh, 161–105–122—-815
5. Tim Tebow, 43–70–121—-390
6. C.J. Spiller, 26–31–83—-223
7. Kellen Moore, 10–20–30—-100
8. Case Keenum, 2–9–13—-37
9. Mardy Gilyard, 2–2–13—-23
10. Golden Tate, 2–3–9—-21

The top eight were just what I predicted in my final Heisman Watch.  In the end, Ingram’s win could be best attributed to his appearing on the most ballots (68%), compared to Gerhart (67%) and McCoy (61%).

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.