The Fan Vote

Here’s the latest press release from the Heisman Trust:

NEW YORK, Sept. 30, 2010 – The Heisman Trophy Trust is calling on fans once again this year to cast their vote for the 76th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy.  The Heisman Trophy Trust announced today the opening of online fan voting at  Through a partnership with Nissan North America, this program gives fans one vote to be added to the overall Heisman tabulation.  Every year since 1999 the Heisman Trophy has provided an opportunity for college football fans to submit their collective voice in the Heisman voting process.  At the conclusion of the regular football season, the results of the fan vote will be submitted for the overall voting tabulation. Voting is conducted and tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP.

“Nissan is very excited to once again present the Heisman Fan Vote. College football fans are passionate and knowledgeable and we’re thrilled to give them the unique opportunity to vote for one of sports’ most prestigious awards – the Heisman Memorial Trophy,” said Jon Brancheau, vice president, Marketing, Nissan North America.

The Heisman Memorial Trophy is awarded each season to the most outstanding college football player.  In addition to the one overall fan vote, the Heisman electorate is comprised of 870 media members from throughout the country, as well as every living former Heisman winner.   

“The 2010 season is already off to an exciting start and we expect fans to have many strong candidates to choose from.   We encourage all fans to make their voice heard and vote for the 76th Heisman Memorial Trophy winner.” stated Rob Whalen Jr. Executive Director, The Heisman Memorial Trophy.
The official announcement of the winner of the 76th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy will be made at the Nokia Theatre in Times Square in New York City on Saturday, December 11 and aired live on ESPN. The winner will be presented his award at the 76th Annual Heisman Memorial Trophy Dinner on Monday, December 13 at the Marriott Marquis.  Three previous Heisman winners will also be recognized: Joseph Bellino (Navy, 1960) on the 50th Anniversary of his award, Bo Jackson (Auburn, 1985) on the 25th Anniversary of his award and Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000) on his 10th Anniversary.  Tickets can be purchased online at

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.