Rival Heismans

If Cameron Newton hangs on to win the Heisman Trophy for Auburn, it will come just one year after Mark Ingram won his for archrival Alabama. 

I’m not sure there can be any sweeter way to answer your rival than to match his accomplishments tit-for-tat.  Auburn could not only win a Heisman, but a national title as well–just like ‘Bama did last season.  How rare is that?

Looking back, there have been four previous times where major rivals have won back-to-back Heismans:

1992 (Geno Toretta, Miami) and 1993 (Charlie Ward, FSU)

1977 (Earl Campbell, Texas) and 1978 (Billy Sims, Oklahoma)

1967 (Gary Beban, UCLA) and 1968 (O.J. Simpson, USC)

1964 (John Huarte, Notre Dame) and 1965 (Mike Garrett, USC)

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of Heismanpundit.com, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.