Robert Griffin III Wins the 2011 Heisman Trophy

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III capped a brilliant junior season by winning the 77th Heisman Trophy at the annual Heisman presentation ceremony in New York City on Saturday night.

Griffin III  totaled 1,687 points and 405 first-place votes, winning 5 of 6 regions, beating out runner up Andrew Luck of Stanford, who had 1,407 points.

It’s the first Heisman Trophy won by a player from Baylor.

“This one isn’t just about me, it’s about the school and Baylor nation,” Griffin III said. “It will always belong to them, too.”

Trent Richardson of Alabama was third with 978 points, while Montee Ball of Wisconsin was fourth (348 points) and Tyrann Mathieu of LSU was fifth (327 points).

Stay tuned to for more breakdown of the 77th Heisman trophy vote.

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.