Johnny Manziel wins 78th Heisman Trophy

Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel rode a record-breaking season all the way to a history-making finish in the Heisman Trophy race.

The dual-threat quarterback from Kerrville, Texas, became the first freshman winner in the 78 year history of the prestigious trophy on Saturday night.

Manziel tallied 474 first-place votes and 2,029 total points, comfortably ahead of runner up Manti Te’o, the linebacker from Notre Dame. Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein was third with 894 points.

The 6-1, 190-pound Manziel was fantastic in his first year as a starter, compiling an SEC-record 4,600 yards of total offense — including 43 total touchdowns — while leading the Aggies to a 10-2 record in their first year in the league. It was A&M’s best season since 1998. Manziel became just the fifth player in FBS history — and the first freshman– to throw for over 3,000 yards and rush for over 1,000.

The highlight of Manziel’s season — and probably the key to his Heisman win — was his performance in Texas A&M’s upset of then-No.1 Alabama in Tuscaloosa on Nov. 10. Manziel threw for 253 yards and two touchdowns and added another 92 yards on the ground in the dramatic 29-24 victory.

It’s the second Heisman Trophy for Texas A&M, with the first coming in 1957 when running back John David Crow took home the honor while playing for Paul ‘Bear’ Bryant. Coincidentally, the runner up to Crow was also a defensive player — Alex Karras of Iowa.


— For the sixth year in a row, the final HeismanPundit/ Heisman Straw poll nailed the winner of the Heisman. The top four in the poll mirrored the top four in the final vote.

— Last night, I wrote that the winning margin would look like the 1992 result, when Gino Torretta beat Marshall Faulk by 320 points. This year’s margin? 323 points.

— Manziel is the first freshman to win the award.

—  Manziel was named on 92% of the ballots. Te’o was on 84%. Klein on 64%.

— The three finalists received 86% of the votes tabulated.

— 77% of the ballots were received in the second week of voting, after the final game.

— 14 players received first-place votes. Thirty players in all appeared on ballots.

— Manziel is the 13th winner to exceed 2,000 points.

— Te’o had the second-most first-place votes for a runner up in the history of the Heisman.

— Kevin Sumlin is the first African-American head coach to coach a Heisman winner.

— Sophomores and freshmen comprised 40% of the top 10, the most in Heisman history.

Powered by

About Heismanpundit

Chris Huston, A.K.A. ‘The Heisman Pundit‘, is a Heisman voter and the creator and publisher of, a site dedicated to analysis of the Heisman Trophy and college football. Dubbed “the foremost authority on the Heisman” by Sports Illustrated, HP is regularly quoted or cited during football season in newspapers across the country. He is also a regular contributor on sports talk radio and television.

Follow HP

Find us on Twitter, Facebook and Youtube!

Comments are closed.